Free Wi-Fi
4 Star comfortable guest accommodationMain Title - The Old Mill Guest AccommodationWhy a Giraffe?Top right decorative image
Decorative image

Home

Room Availability
Contact Us
Guest Rooms
Public Rooms
Tariff
Access Statement

Location
About Us
Breakfast
Restaurant
Local Area
Local Transport

Attractions
Newsletter
Car Park

‘SEVEN AGES OF NANTCLWYD’ REVEALED  CLICK TO SEE BBC VIDEO

Restored Nantclwyd House /Nantclwyd y Dre in Ruthin opened to the public on Saturday the 23rd June 2007. Ruthin is about a 30 minute drive from The Old Mill.

----------

Nantclwyd House Tree-ring dating and documentary research have revealed the long and fascinating history of this impressive timber-framed mansion, begun in c.1435 and the oldest timbered town house so far identified in Wales. Following Jacobean enlargement and the major late Stuart additions—including the distinctive pillared porch—which gave it its present form, ‘Nantclwyd y dre’ was again updated for the Georgian Wynne family. Next it became in turn a Victorian girls’ school and an Edwardian rectory, also serving as the lodging for visiting judges. Finally it gained 20th century Arts and Crafts embellishments from the Dyer Gough family, then suffering dereliction before extensive restoration by Denbighshire County Council.

The rear courtyard of Nantclwyd HouseEach of the ‘Seven Ages’ of Nantclwyd’s history is evoked by recreated and fully-furnished rooms within. Visitors can walk backwards in time from the 1942 hall, through the 1916 rector’s study and the 1891 schoolroom, to the splendid panelled and Chinese-wallpapered Georgian bedroom suite. Next comes Stuart owner Eubule Thelwall’s 1690 ‘cabinet’ with its ‘Kidderminster stuff’ hangings and handsome plaster ceiling, followed by the vividly decorated Jacobean bedchamber with its hung bed and painted cloths, and a ‘stool of ease’ in its closet. Finally the 15th century ‘business room’, its 1435 structure virtually unchanged, recalls a mediaeval resident whose pilgrimage to Rome was recorded in a document found concealed within the house itself.

Essential information for Visitors

Telephone 01824 709822/708281

Opening Times

Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday,  between 10am and 5pm until September.

Wheelchair access to ground floor only, but interactive display gives visitors with limited mobility visual access to upper floors

No parking on-site, but pay & display car-parks within walking distance at Dog Lane, Market Street and Crispin Yard.




Business Travel?
Travelling on business?
Visiting family or friends?
Visiting Family or Friends?


Discover Flintshire

Visit The Clwydian Range
All Right Reserved. Copyright © The Old Mill Guest Accommodation - 2012.